Hope For The Best, Prepare For The Worst

Background Credit: Randi Hausken Quote Credit: Suzanne Collins

Background Credit: Randi Hausken
Quote Credit: Suzanne Collins

When the future beckons, what do you do? Do you rush forward and grab whatever it offers you or slow down and choose what you think you want or need? As the months pass by, “the year of choices” as I like to call it, has arrived and it’s time to make decisions about our future and how we want it to take place. The chance of failure is increasing with each passing day and my anxiety is mounting. When do we push ourselves and when do we take a breath? What if we make mistakes that can’t be fixed? Simply put, I have to choose next year’s classes and I have no idea what to do.

Lawyer, William Jennings Bryan said, “Destiny is no matter of chance. It is a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved.” and I think that he’s right. We’ll have to make decisions that we believe will set us up for the best possible future. Obviously, it’s impossible to know without a doubt, the exact path our choices will take us but if we at least begin the walk with an open-mind, maybe the journey will be worth the extra obstacles we will face.

Background Credit: Lotus Carroll

Background Credit: Lotus Carroll

When I run “the mile”, I never ever walk because I know that if I do I will walk the next time and the time after that even when I don’t need to. I know that I can handle being pushed a little further than my comfort zone but I also need to be aware of the very fine line between pushing my limits and reaching my breaking point. The problem is that you only figure out when you’ve crossed the line after you’ve already done it. “It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart” (Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay) and a lot of the time “I’m busy. Holding myself together with tape and glue.” (Grey’s Anatomy)

There’s so many things to think about; classes, tests, college, our future, and so little time to think about everything that it’s hard not to be overwhelmed. My dad always says that we should “hope for the best and prepare for the worst” and whenever I don’t know what to do, I think of his saying. Even if my well-intentioned decision turns out to be a complete failure, at least I learned a few things in the process.

Leave a Reply

